Destination: Emmy Awards!


I have to say, that even before I got engaged, one of my favourite things to do was to buy a trashy magazine right after a red-carpet event, to find wedding dress, hair and makeup inspiration! 

From the very daring to the classic and simply elegant, whether it was a hit or miss or a fashion do or don’t – There’s nothing better than sitting down to scour page after page of celebs dressed up to the nines!

This years Emmy Awards was no exception.  Here are some of my favourites that could easily transition from the red carpet to the aisle.  And don’t forget about your bridesmaids and your groom too! Even if it just helps you work out what hair works with what dress, what type of makeup works, or just acts as general inspiration!

Cut out pictures and add them to your wedding file to take with you when you next go looking for the perfect dress/hairstyle/makeup look!

Look One: Minka Kelly in a Midnight Blue Dior Gown

Minka looking gorgeous in Dior

I love this colour and I think it flatters most skin types, it’s certainly working for Minka! I think the classic lines with the sexy glimpses of flesh keep it looking classy, but with a modern twist.  I also like the way she’s kept hair and makeup minimal, with hair loosely tied back and a classic, black lined eye. This could easily be translated into a beautiful wedding dress.  It would look fabulous in white – or keep it dark for the bride who wants to stand out and make a statement!

Vintage Pink Princess - Jayma Mays

 
Look Two: Jayma Mays is Pretty in Pink
 
Ok, so I’m a massive Glee fan, but that’s not the only reason I’ve chosen Jayma Mays Emmy look to feature in this post!  I think the soft pink colour, along with the sweet floaty layers makes it a beautiful option for our whimsical bride, who’s perhaps chosen a garden as the location for their wedding.  I also love her gorgeous earrings, and her pink lippie adds a fun pop of colour!
 
 
Look Three: Lea Michele in Marchesa

Michele in Marchesa - Love the hair, love the makeup, love the dress!

 
Yes, it’s another Glee star, but I swear that as soon as I saw Lea in this red number – I had to share! I used to be a bit anti-red as I thought it was a difficult colour to wear.  These days, I know that i can get away with orange-based reds, and this Marchesa backless number really knocked my socks  off! I think she looks so glamorous and I love that the simplicity of the dress takes nothing away from the drama that it creates! The rosette detail on the sleeves takes the dress from ‘Plain Jane’ to ‘Lusty Lea!’  I also love the way she’s kept her makeup fresh looking, with a liquid eyeliner creating drama while her neutral lips and blush just allow her natural beauty to shine through.  Love it!
 
 
Gorgeous Lea Michele in Marchesa
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Tell us what you think!

